Imagining the tenth dimension

October 1, 2009

This little film related to the book, “Imagining the Tenth Dimension” by Rob Bryanton, there is also a website, http://www.tenthdimension.com/blog

When I watched this it made such simple sense of something I’d not really approached because I thought it would be a bit complicated. I’d thought about it before even but not realised what I was thinking. Anyway, the idea of folding may be worth pondering over, and of adding time or possibilities or cause and effect. Obviously I don’t want to add these things for no reason, it may help in fulfilling my aims though just to think about it. How much can I say without saying it? What can be said? Could this help in creating a resolution? How do I keep it simple and poetic, do I want this stuff to be part of my film? You know the usual questions, so it’s just interesting to chew over at the moment.

3 Responses to “Imagining the tenth dimension”

  1. Hey, thanks for posting a link to my animation! I’ve commented elsewhere that I think anyone planning to introduce a time travel element into their fiction should use the logic of this way of visualizing as their framework, as it can help avoid some of the contradictions and paradoxes that often spring up. In fact, chapter seven of my book is called The Paradoxes of Time Travel, and it analyzes some of the popular films and novels that have approached this idea from various perspectives.

    I agree with you completely, this doesn’t have to be overtly added either, and can be nothing more than a hidden subtext that keeps the logic of the storytelling straight. That’s why I would say that films like It’s a Wonderful Life or Groundhog Day are about this way of visualizing reality even though there’s no time machines or technology involved in their storylines.

    I’ve posted a link to your blog entry over at the Imagining the Tenth Dimension blog in my Interesting Links section.

    Thanks!

    Rob Bryanton

  2. Hi Sarah, I’ve posted a blog entry about your Hug from Another Dimension, I hope you enjoy it!

    Rob

    http://imaginingthetenthdimension.blogspot.com/2009/10/hug-from-another-dimension.html

  3. Hi,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, every time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

Leave a Reply

