Commitment

September 30, 2009

I thing I’ve gradually come to accept the idea I’ve been talking about here, for months I can remember thinking, keep your options open, this might not be the film you’re meant to make, or as a Christian- what God wants me to make. But I’ve just been following whatever has come to me and influenced me, and because it was so unforced, which I know is good, it’s still a bit worrying because I haven’t really wanted to do much else, or I’ve always been brought back to this point, and I know that if I bring this to my tutors and they don’t think it’s right for me, then that would affect me very seriously.

So before I got too far along I tried to ask for feedback. I managed to get to talk to Caroline Parsons the other day, and she said that she is happy with what I’m doing, but to consider really trying to incorporate something which is more desirable than just a 2D drawn film. Its obviously become a very small field of animation now with the take over of computers, which is half the reason why I wanted to be a pencil animator, because it’s really made a lot of work quite lazy, but I totally agree and the thought has been in the back of my mind for a while, so that needs more consideration. The balloons film used compositing and 2D hand drawn which worked quite well, and I’d be happy to do something like that, but it was also necessary for the film, not just used for the sake of using a computer.

I haven’t spoken to Leonie Sharrock that much but she did also mention to me that there are so many good 2D hand drawn films that are awesome because of how computers have helped. What comes to mind for me is the work done by Gobelins shown at Annecy 09, but to be honest I’m not sure I could really do it as well as this in the time I have, and it might be a downfall for me because I’m not sure of my skill in it, any way, have a look what I mean:

2 Responses to “Commitment”

  1. DennisVega said

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

  2. Tnelson said

    There’s good info here. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog. Keep up the good work mate!

Leave a Reply

