Colour/sound

September 30, 2009

I’ve been wondering how I want the film to look, and one thing I’ve thought will help communicate the distinction between the 2D and 3D is colour. I was watching about 5hours of Beatles documentaries recently and the majority of the footage was in black and white, so when they played a bit of the animated video for Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds, the colours, were just amazing, they were already bright and vibrant but in contrast with the black and white film it just looked so good. A lot like seeing colour for the first time, which also a good example of God. So I was thinking that the 2D world would be in black and white, and whatever is 3D (cross-sections- 3D passing through a 2D flatland) would be really vibrant dynamic alive colours, to show how much more would be revealed out of their paradigm. The same would be done with the sound, the characters like in the Grace Of Dimensions test, the flatland characters would lip-sync with speech bubbles and not create sound, but what passes through their world but have full foley sound, which also gives so much information about what it is that’s passing through, like the sound of water- depending on what I figure out for them to experience.

Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds, The Beatles.

lucy

Grace of Dimensions, my earlier test.

double

It could also be really good in terms of involving computers in this in a good way, not in a modern CG way, but keeping the essence of human error and nerve in the animation by painting all the frames but making it even more epic using a computer to add atmosphere, perhaps, somehow, I imagine them being used for lighting, because God is like light, and it’s not easy to draw light in the same way as generating light to create more of an experience…

2 Responses to “Colour/sound”

  1. I dont know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley

  2. Savannah said

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

